britney · britney spears · female · FEMME FATALE · My Britney

Happy BRITday Femme Fatale

Yeaa!!! It’s been A YEARS since 7th studio album of the most iconic Pop Star Britney Spears,, was released to public by Jive Records.

Upon its release, Femme Fatale received generally positive reviews from music critics, who complimented its production and dance-pop style. However, some criticized it for Spears’ supposed lack of involvement and heavily-processed vocals, while stating that the singer was no longer the center of the album and found a trade-off to be real personality. Singer-songwriter Ryan Tedder defended Spears, saying that Frank Sinatra and Garth Brooks were huge artists who didn’t write most of their songs. Commercially, Femme Fatale has become successful, debuting atop of the charts in Australia, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Russia, South Korea and the United States, and peaking inside the top ten in twenty-four countries. In the United States, she earned her sixth number one album.

Four singles were released from the album: “Hold It Against Me”, “Till the World Ends“, and “I Wanna Go” became worldwide hits, and reached top ten positions in the United States, making it Spears’ first album to have three top ten hits in the country. The fourth single “Criminal” turned out as a moderate hit, peaking inside the top twenty in five countries. However, it reached number one in Brazil. To promote Femme Fatale, Spears performed the songs in a number of television appearances and also embarked on the Femme Fatale Tour in 2011. Joe Jonas and Nicki Minaj served as the opening acts for most shows of the tour.

Critical Reception

Femme Fatale holds a score of 67 out of 100 (indicating “generally positive reviews”) based on 25 critical reviews, according to the music review aggregator Metacritic.

Jody Rosen of Rolling Stone commented that it “may be Britney’s best album; certainly it’s her strangest”.

Allmusic editor Stephen Thomas Erlewine viewed that Spears’ presence on the album is overshadowed by its “high-class” production, calling the album “Essentially a cleaner, classier remake of the gaudily dark Blackou

Edna Gundersen of USA Today gave the album three out of four stars and wrote that Spears and her producers “have crafted a trendy, infectious and engaging ballad-free batch of electro-pop tunes”.

Entertainment Weekly‘s Adam Markovitz called it “a ballad-free, treadmill-ready playlist of tireless dance beats and top-shelf production” and called Spears’ vocals as “a confidently corrupt guide to a place where our only worry is whether the beats will end before the sun comes up.

Robert Everett-Green of The Globe and Mail gave the album three-and-a-half out of four stars and complimented its “grainy, glistening electronic sound”, calling it “one of the major guilty pleasures in pop this year”

Kitty Empire of The Observer commented that Spears “has turned out the “fierce dance record” she promised

Chart Performance

Femme Fatale debuted at number one on the Billboard 200, with first-week sales of 276,000 copies. This gave Spears her sixth debut at the top of the charts and leaves her in a three way tie for third most number one albums for a female artist, tied with Mariah Carey and Janet Jackson. However, the first-week sales are Spears’ second-lowest sales start with a studio set. Only her 1999 debut effort, “Baby One More Time,” began with a smaller figure (121,000 copies).  n its second week, the album fell to number two, with sales plummeting 73 percent to 75,000, giving it a two-week total of 351,000 sold in the United States.

In Mexico the album debuted at number one upon its release, spending three weeks inside the top ten before falling to number thirteen.

The album debuted at number eight on the UK Albums Chart, selling 31,650 copies in its first week.

On April 4, 2011 Femme Fatale debuted at number one in Australia, making it Spears’ first number one album in the country.

n Germany, the album debuted at number ten making it her seventh top-ten studio album in a row, and her eighth top-ten album with the inclusion of the compilation album Greatest Hits: My Prerogative (2004), which peaked at number four.

Femme Fatale debuted at number eight in Denmark, selling 1,009 copies in its first week

The album had sold over 1.5 million copies worldwide as of December 30, 2011

Track Listing

1. Till The World Ends (Produced by Dr. Luke, Max Martin and Billboard)
2. Hold It Against Me (Produced by Dr. Luke, Max Martin and Co-produced by Billboard)
3. Inside Out (Produced by Dr. Luke, Max Martin and Billboard)
4. I Wanna Go (Produced by Max Martin and Shellback)
5. How I Roll (Produced by Bloodshy, Henrik Jonback and Magnus)
6. (Drop Dead) Beautiful featuring Sabi (Produced by Benny Blanco, Ammo, JMIKE and Billboard)
7. Seal It With A Kiss (Produced by Dr. Luke, Max Martin and Dream Machine)
8. Big Fat Bass featuring (Produced by
9. Trouble For Me (Produced by Fraser T Smith)
10. Trip To Your Heart (Produced by Bloodshy, Henrik Jonback and Magnus)
11. Gasoline (Produced by Dr. Luke and Benny Blanco)
12. Criminal(Produced by Max Martin and Shellback)

The Deluxe version of “Femme Fatale” will include four additional tracks:
13. Up N’ Down (Produced by Max Martin, Shellback and Oligee)
14. He About To Lose Me (Produced by Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins)
15. Selfish (Produced by Stargate, and Sandy Vee)
16. Don’t Keep Me Waiting (Produced by Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins)

Femme Fatale Tour

On June 16, 2011, Spears embarked on her sixth concert tour to further promote Femme Fatale. It was announced on March 29, 2011 and so far includes 39 dates in North America and 26 dates in Europe. On March 29, 2011, following her performances on Good Morning America, she announced a co-headlining tour with Enrique Iglesias, starting in June 2011. Hours after the announcement, it was reported by Billboard  that Iglesias had pulled out of the tour. Ray Wedell of Billboard speculated that the reason may have been that Spears was deemed by news outlets as the headliner, while Iglesias was considered the opening act. The first twenty-six North American dates were also announced on March 29, 2011. The opening acts were announced on April 12, 2011. Spears stated, “This is the Femme Fatale tour and I’m thrilled to have Nicki Minaj, Jessie J and The Toy Boys, and Nervo join me and get everyone on the dance floor. Can’t wait to take the Femme Fatales on the road.” Tickets for select markets go on sale beginning April 30 at Ticketmaster and Live Nation’s websites. In March 2011, Spears’s manager Larry Rudolph told MTV News that the tour would have a “post-apocalyptic vibe”, while commenting that “Till the World Ends” keeps becoming a theme for us.” He also confirmed Jamie King as the tour director. The tour opened to positive reviews, with some calling it her best tour in her entire career.

Now, rumor has it, Britney will add Asian Leg starting in Japan for 2 date and South Korea for 2nd date.. I WISH I CAN SEE BRITNEY SPEARS FEMME FATALE TOUR LIVE, RIGHT WITH MY EYES!!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s